Music News

Check out Dion’s new collaborative tune with Van Morrison, “I Got Nothin'”

Check out Dion's new collaborative tune with Van Morrison, "I Got Nothin'"

Keeping the Blues Alive RecordsRock ‘n’ roll and doo-wop legend Dion DiMucci has debuted another new song from his forthcoming star-studded studio album Blues with Friends, “I Got Nothin’,” which features guest vocals by Van Morrison and guitar riffing from veteran bluesman Joe Louis Walker.

The mid-tempo blues ballad is the fourth in a series of tracks from the album that Dion is making available each week as a digital download and via streaming services leading up to Blues with Friends‘ June 5 release.

“You know when you sit down and you want to write a song, but nothing comes to mind? I was having one of those days,” Dion explains about “I Got Nothin'” in a press release. “So, I went with the feeling and this is what I got. I got nothin’, and nothing is enough! It’s more than enough, actually, when you’re singing it with Van Morrison and Joe Louis Walker complemented us perfectly.”

In addition, a companion lyric video has premiered at Dion’s official YouTube channel. The clip features black-and-white footage of a young male guitarist walking around the streets of a city, and heading up to the roof of a building, where he proceeds to jam out. He eventually is met on the roof by a female friend, as the footage turns to color.

As previously reported, Blues with Friends also features collaborations with Bruce Springsteen and wife Patti Scialfa, ZZ Top’s Billy Gibbons, Paul SimonJeff BeckStray Cats‘ Brian SetzerE Street Band guitarist Steven Van Zandt and more. Bob Dylan wrote the album’s liner notes.

Blues with Friends can be pre-ordered now, and is available on CD, as a two-LP vinyl set and digitally.

Here’s the album’s full track list:

“Blues Comin’ On” — featuring Joe Bonamassa
“Kickin’ Child” — featuring Joe Menza
“Uptown Number 7” — featuring Brian Setzer
“Can’t Start Over Again” — featuring Jeff Beck
“My Baby Loves to Boogie” — featuring John Hammond
“I Got Nothin'” — featuring Van Morrison & Joe Louis Walker
“Stumbling Blues” — featuring Jimmy & Jerry Vivino
“Bam Bang Boom” — featuring Billy Gibbons
“I Got the Cure” — featuring Sonny Landreth
“Song for Sam Cooke (Here in America)” — featuring Paul Simon
“What If I Told You” — featuring Samantha Fish
“Told You Once in August” — featuring John Hammond & Rory Block
“Way Down (I Won’t Cry No More)” — featuring Stevie Van Zandt
“Hymn to Him” — featuring Patti Scialfa & Bruce Springsteen

Copyright © 2020, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.