Music News

Dave Mason to release reimagined version of debut album, ‘Alone Together,’ in July

Dave Mason to release reimagined version of debut album, 'Alone Together,' in July

Courtesy of Dave MasonCo-founding Traffic singer/guitarist Dave Mason will celebrate the 50th anniversary of his 1970 debut solo album, Alone Together, by releasing a newly re-recorded version of the eight-song collection titled Alone Together…Again on July 24.

The original album featured the soulful gem “Only You Know and I Know” and was certified gold for sales of 500,000 copies in the U.S. The record featured contributions from various guest musicians, including keyboardist Leon Russell; bassists Chris Ethridge, Larry Knechtel and Carl Radle; drummers John Barbata, Jim Capaldi, Jim Gordon and Jim Keltner; and backing singers Bonnie Bramlett, Rita Coolidge and Claudia Lennear.

Mason recorded Alone Together…Again with members of his touring band, as well as several guest artists, including Doobie Brothers multi-instrumentalist John McFee.

“The main reason I wanted to reimagine this album was that I was never quite satisfied with how my vocals sounded,” Mason explains in a statement. “I like the songs and I like the performances but I was so young and it was my first solo album. The older I got the more the vocals bothered me and so I finally thought that I would sing the songs the way I first imagined them when I wrote them.”

He adds, “It may have taken me 50 years, but I am now truly satisfied with all of the songs and I really count this as one of my most satisfying artistic achievements.”

Alone Together…Again can be pre-ordered now on CD and digitally at The CD will come with a tri-fold pull-out replicating the original album’s poster artwork.

To mark the album’s arrival, Mason will take part in a Facebook Live event on July 24 featuring him telling stories and playing some songs.

Here’s the Alone Together…Again track list:

“Only You Know and I Know”
“Can’t Stop Worrying, Can’t Stop Loving”
“Waitin’ on You”
“Shouldn’t Have Took More Than You Gave”
“World in Changes”
“Sad and Deep as You”
“Just a Song”
“Look at You Look at Me”

By Matt Friedlander
Copyright © 2020, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.