Music News

Ex-KISS guitarist Ace Frehley to release new covers album, 'Origins Vol. 2,' in September

Entertainment One

Founding KISS lead guitarist Ace Frehley has unveiled full details about his new covers album, Origins Vol. 2, which will be released on September 18.

A sequel to Frehley’s 2016 album Origins, the new collection features renditions of songs by various artists who influenced and inspired Ace, including Led Zeppelin‘s “Good Times Bad Times,” The Beatles‘ “I’m Down,” The Rolling Stones‘ “Jumpin’ Jack Flash,” The Kinks‘ “Lola,” and The Jimi Hendrix Experience‘s “Manic Depression.” A cover of the 1975 KISS tune “She” also appears as a bonus track.

Several guest musicians contributed to the album. Cheap Trick‘s Robin Zander appears on a rendition of Humble Pie‘s “30 Days in the Hole,” Lita Ford sings on “Jumpin’ Jack Flash,” former KISS guitarist Bob Kulick lends his talents to “Manic Depression,” and Rob Zombie guitarist John5 plays on “I’m Down” and a cover of Cream‘s “Politician.”

An advance single from Origins Vol. 2, a version of Deep Purple‘s “Space Truckin’,” was released Tuesday as a digital single and via streaming services. In addition, an animated companion video for the song debuted Tuesday on Frehley’s official YouTube channel. The clip, which was animated by artist Chris Fequiere, is a sequel to a video released last year for Ace’s original tune “Mission to Mars” that featured cartoon versions of Frehley and his solo band, as well as a trusty teddy bear sidekick named Space Bear.

In the new clip, Space Bear is kidnapped by the evil Martian queen, and its up to Ace and the gang to save him.

You can pre-order Origins Vol. 2 now on CD, as a limited-edition, opaque-gold two-LP vinyl set, and digitally.

Frehely also has plans to release a new original studio album in 2021.

Here’s the Origins Vol. 2 track list:

“Good Times Bad Times” (Led Zeppelin)
“Never in My Life” (Mountain)
“Space Truckin'” (Deep Purple)
“I’m Down” (The Beatles)
“Jumpin’ Jack Flash” (The Rolling Stones)
“Politician” (Cream)
“Lola” (The Kinks)
“30 Days in the Hole” (Humble Pie)
“Manic Depression” (The Jimi Hendrix Experience)
“Kicks” (Paul Revere & the Raiders)
“We Gotta Get Out of This Place” (The Animals)
“She” (KISS)*

* = bonus track.

By Matt Friedlander
Copyright © 2020, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.