New Songs: Howard Jones to release new studio album “Transform” in May

Credit: Simon Fowler’80s synth-pop star Howard Jones will release a new studio album titled Transform on May 10. The 10-song collection features three collaborations with popular electronica artist BT, including the title track.

Speaking about the inspiration behind the album’s tunes, Jones says, “[I]f we want to change the world for the benefit of everyone, first we have to start with ourselves.”

Transform also features “Eagle Will Fly Again,” a song that first appeared on the soundtrack to the 2015 film Eddie the Eagle.

Jones is best known for his string of synth-driven hits during the 1980s, including 1984’s “Things Can Only Get Better” and 1985’s “No One Is to Blame,” which peaked, respectively at #5 and #4 on the Billboard Hot 100.

Jones will hit the road in March for a brief tour that will feature shows in the Western U.S. and Hawaii. He’ll be performing with his Howard Jones Acoustic Trio, which also features Kajagoogoo‘s Nick Beggs and journeyman guitarist Robin Boult.

Here are all of Jones’ U.S. tour dates:

3/21 — Salt Lake City, UT, Eccles Theatre
3/22 — Beaver Creek, CO, Vilar Center for the Arts
3/23 — Parker, CO, Parker Place Center
3/24 — Fort Collins, CO, Lincoln Center
3/26 — Oakland, CA, Yoshi’s
3/27 — Oakland, CA, Yoshi’s
3/29 — Honolulu, HI, Blue Note
3/30 — Honolulu, HI, Blue Note

And here’s the Transform track list:

“The One to Love You”*
“Take Us Higher”
“Beating Mr. Neg”
“Hero in Your Eyes”
“Tin Man”
“At the Speed of Love”*
“Eagle Will Fly Again”**
“Stay with Me”

*featuring BT
** = previously released on the Eddie the Eagle movie soundtrack

Copyright © 2019, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.